RSS Feed

37 // The Hunger Games

 

This is a day late. I was so caught up in the excitement of seeing ‘The Hunger Games’ yesterday that I forgot to post. Plus, in my defense, the movie showing I went to started at 11:00 p.m, therefore I didn’t get out of the theater until 1:30 a.m. By the time I got home, I was exhausted so I went to bed. So yesterday’s good thing was seeing the smash-hit movie, ‘The Hunger Games.’ I’m proud to say that I was able to finish all 3 books in the series before seeing the film. I’m glad I got to do it that way, because at least for a while I was able to envision the town and the characters as I wanted to see them in my head. I think when I read these again, all I’ll see is Jennifer Lawrence, Liam Hemsworth, Josh Hutcherson, etc.

So the movie, in my eyes, was pretty good. For an adaptation of a critically-acclaimed series, it did a good job of sticking to the plot and not straying too far from the events of the book. I thought it was cast near perfectly (with the exception of Liam as Gale… he just looked too attractive and non-starving) and the pacing kept me interested. Of course, I’m one of those people who tends to like the books better than the movies. But I’m still really glad I saw it. I even wore some Hunger Games memorabilia to the show (thanks Morgan!). I may end up seeing the movie again this weekend with my parents, not sure yet.

One response »

  1. I thought the Gale casting was bad also. I love me some Peeta though!!!! I might be going to see it two more times, once with a teacher friend and once with Jasmine in April. I usually don’t watch many movies multiple times, but I think this one will be easy to do it with!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

