RSS Feed

22 // Cooking

I don’t usually have the urge to cook, but tonight I did. Ever since I’ve been starting to watch what I eat, I finally figured out that I will have total control over what I’m consuming if I actually prepare it myself. I came across the most wonderful blog, Skinny Taste, and I swear it’s my new favorite thing. This blogger is just a regular woman (mom with kids) who was looking to make healthier meals for her family.

Her recipes are all pretty amazing. Some of them feel out of my skill level, but I decided to tackle one of them tonight. I made a Carmelized Onion, Red Pepper and Zucchini Frittata. And oh man, was it good. And HUGE. And low in calories and everything. My mom helped me  primarily with the chopping of vegetables (she deemed my knife-wielding skills to be inferior to hers … she is right) and it was incredibly easy to put together in the end.

All it consisted of was 4 eggs, 4 egg whites, a red bell pepper, an onion, half a zucchini and some salt and pepper. I’m strangely satisfied after eating it, and I am just so excited to know that this kind of blog and this kind of recipe can help me stay on track. I’ve still got quite a few calories left in my day, so I have a treat waiting in the freezer that I plan on devouring while watching Project Runway.

I like the idea of cooking. I’ve been dabbling in it a little within the last year, and I think I’ll keep going thanks to the Skinny Taste blog.

2 responses »

  1. I don’t know if you like pumpkin or not, but if you do, you should make this. You can eat the ENTIRE batch for 350ish calories. I doubled it and had dinner, packed the same amount for lunch tomorrow, and have another small serving left over. I would cut back on the salt just a smidge, but that’s just me. Threw in some sauteed spinach and man, it was good!
    http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=1003882

    Reply
  2. I love Skinny Taste! Just looking at the pictures on there always makes me hungry..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

