RSS Feed

5 // Less Traffic

In the world of magazines, holidays don’t entirely exist. At least, not the ones that celebrate past and present Presidents. Deadlines don’t stop, and too bad if it’s Christmas and you can’t get off your couch because you ate too many cookies … you have five different sections to fact-check and lay out because half the office is taking a vacation right now.

I digress.

Today is President’s Day, a holiday that really hasn’t affected me that much in the past. When I was still in college, my school was one of the glorious few that stayed open. It was always deemed “Preview Day” because all the high school kids who had the day off got to come invade the campus for a few grand tours. All of us college-folk had to teem around and look busy. We had to look studious and academic. We were not supposed to look hungover. Some of us were more successful than others at keeping up that charade.

Today, in my big-girl life, the day has not been any different. My company’s office was still open. We didn’t get that coveted three day weekend like some of my teacher friends. Plus side to today’s Monday, as opposed to any other Monday I’ve dealt with for the last year? Less traffic.

My commute is usually at least an hour of me whining and turning off the radio because sometimes I hate Mikey and Big Bob, flicking people off for driving poorly though only underneath where my window is so I don’t get shot at or something, screaming when someone cuts me off and banging my head against my steering wheel because I’m still stuck in traffic. For five miles. Down a stretch of road with the same damn billboards that never, ever change. Every day.

But, oh, today. Today was fab because there were probably 60% less cars out on the road. Which meant I was able to leave at a luxurious 8:20 a.m. and cruise along my route without ripping my hair out. I had time to stop for a free coffee at the Bean-Thru, thanks to my handy Groupon that has not yet expired. I still made it to work a little before 9, and it felt like a decent start to an otherwise uneventful day. Nothing else of my day felt blog-worthy, but less traffic? That’s always a good thing.

Leave a Reply

